Somalia adopts the review of the comprehensive National Strategy for P/CVE

0
Wednesday November 29, 2017 - 08:45:18 in Latest News by Super Admin
  • Visits: 527
  • (Rating 0.0/5 Stars) Total Votes: 0
  • 0 0
  • Share via Social Media

    Somalia adopts the review of the comprehensive National Strategy for P/CVE

    Somalia adopts the review of the Comprehensive National Strategy for Preventing & Countering Violent Extremism (P/CVE) and Action Plan during the High Level Meeting on Strand 4, P/CVE that took place in Mogadishu on 28 November 2017.

    Share on Twitter Share on facebook Share on Digg Share on Stumbleupon Share on Delicious Share on Google Plus

CVE conference held in Mogadishu. Photo credit: MoI
Somalia adopts the review of the Comprehensive National Strategy for Preventing & Countering Violent Extremism (P/CVE) and Action Plan during the High Level Meeting on Strand 4, P/CVE that took place in Mogadishu on 28 November 2017.

HE Abdirahman Omar Osman (Eng. Yarisow) updated participants at the high level meeting on Strand 4 (P/CVE) on the progress made so far which included the following:

• Most of you are aware, that Somalia adopted a comprehensive national strategy for Preventing and Countering Violent Extremism (P/CVE) in September 2016;

• The London Conference in May, Somalia and International Partners agreed a Security Pact;

• Discussions begun after London Conference with a view to focus on Strand 4, Preventing and Countering Violent Extremism (P/CVE);


• Ad-hoc activities and programs exist such as Defectors Program implementation, strategic communications activities, religious and advocacy programs aimed to reducing violent extremism;

• Ad-hoc meetings between SFG, UNSOM and International partners since May, which led to Swedish Ambassador talking a leading role on Strand 4, to co-chair with the Deputy Prime Minister;

• We had a very productive launch of Strand 4 on 7 October 2017, The Deputy Prime Minister HE Mahdi Mohamed Guled (Khadar) and H.E. Andreas von Uexkull, the Swedish Ambassador to Somalia co-chaired this important strand, a strand that by all intend and purpose is to counter the conveyor belt feeding extremist groups in Somalia.

• On 7th October 2017, the co-chairs signed Strand 4 terms of reference that can guide us through the implementation process. We also agreed to devise an action plan in order to implement the National Comprehensive Strategy for Preventing & Countering Violent Extremism (P/CVE).

• All relevant ministries at the FGS, the OPM, OoP and FMS including Benadir and the Director of Defectors Program identified focal points since P/CVE is a cross cutting issue.

• On 11th of November, I provided an update progress to the Comprehensive Approach to Security Executive Meeting chaired by the Prime Minister HE Hassan Ali Khayre;

• We also held a very important technical working group on the 15th November 2017, which we addressed a number of issues including finalization of technical working group composition, review of the comprehensive national strategy for preventing and countering violent extremism (P/CVE).

• On the 15th November, we brought all focal persons and other stakeholders from the International Community together as we further discussed the National Strategy.

• European Institute of Peace (EIP) provided a workshop on 15 November which highlighted the objectives of Strand 4 and local action plans;
• EIP visited regions and assisted federal member states to devise local action plans;

• We are here today 28 November 2017 to our second high level meeting on Strand 4 to endorse the Strategy and to finalize the progress report that we need to submit on 4th December 2017 during the Security Conference.


Leave a comment

  Tip

  Tip

  Tip

  Tip

  Tip